September Cinematery: Space Balls

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Join us on the cemetery grounds for a screening of E.T. Please, feel free to bring your own drink, food, chairs, and blankets. Alcohol is permitted. Gates open an hour before sunset and the movie begins at sunset, around 8:30. Films will be featured on the first Friday of each month this summer. Join us [...]

$10
Recurring Event Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Join us for a guided tour of Congressional Cemetery, sharing the secrets and stories of this hidden gem. Among the 65,000 burials at Congressional are scores of noteworthy citizens who left their mark on the city and the nation. Find out more about their amazing stories. All tours meet inside the front gate of the [...]

$5

Mostly Mothers: The Eternal Maternal at Congressional Cemetery Tour

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Originally created for Mother's Day visitors, this tour focuses exclusively on women for whom motherhood was central to their identities, their lives and sometimes their deaths.  Women celebrated on this tour may have been biological mothers, such as Lucy Bell, who devoted her life to fighting for her family’s freedom from slavery, and expectant mother [...]

$5

American Military History Tour

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

This tour will be a walk through American military history, from the American Revolution to the present, through the stories and personalities of military graves and memorials at Historic Congressional Cemetery. Please come prepared with comfortable clothing and shoes, as the tours often stray from the main paths. The cemetery is closed to dogs on [...]

$5
Recurring Event Tomes & Tombs Book Club

Tomes & Tombs Book Club

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Tombs and Tomes is Congressional Cemetery's book club. We meet every other month in our historic Chapel (unless otherwise noted), and we discuss primarily non-fiction books. Our book selections have no rhyme and reason; however, our choices tend to stray towards the macabre, as is natural for a cemetery book club. Our very first meeting was in September 2013 and we chose to read Stiff, by Mary Roach (pictured here with Doug Graves, Congressional Cemetery's mascot and NOT a real skeleton!).

Tombs & Tomes Book Club September (In Person)

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Tombs and Tomes is Congressional Cemetery's book club. We meet every other month in our historic Chapel (unless otherwise noted), and we discuss primarily non-fiction books. Our book selections have no rhyme and reason; however, our choices tend to stray towards the macabre, as is natural for a cemetery book club. Our very first meeting was in September 2013 and we chose to read Stiff, by Mary Roach (pictured here with Doug Graves, Congressional Cemetery's mascot and NOT a real skeleton!).

Tombs & Tomes Book Club September (Virtual)

Selection: The Cold Vanish: Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands By: Jon Billman From GoodReads.com: For readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, the critically acclaimed author and journalist Jon Billman's fascinating, in-depth look at people who vanish in the wilderness without a trace and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them. These [...]

Recurring Event Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Join us for a guided tour of Congressional Cemetery, sharing the secrets and stories of this hidden gem. Among the 65,000 burials at Congressional are scores of noteworthy citizens who left their mark on the city and the nation. Find out more about their amazing stories. All tours meet inside the front gate of the [...]

$5

Mathew Brady Memorial Dedication

America, especially the Washington area, is steeped in the idea of Abraham Lincoln. 2022 marks two important anniversaries, the 100th anniversary of the opening of the Lincoln Memorial and the 200th anniversary of renowned photographer Mathew Brady’s birthday. In this critical year, historian Larry West will unveil a new Memorial to Brady in the very [...]

Free
Recurring Event Sunday Stroll in the Cemetery

Sunday Stroll in the Cemetery

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Docents may pick their favorite stories or give a specialized tour, rather than giving a standard broad look at the cemetery's history. Join us for a grab bag of history and lore! Our Sunday tours will begin at 1 pm, and will be an informal look at the history of Congressional Cemetery. Please be aware [...]

$5