Tombs & Tomes Book Club September (Virtual)

Selection: The Cold Vanish: Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands By: Jon Billman From GoodReads.com: For readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, the critically acclaimed author and journalist Jon Billman's fascinating, in-depth look at people who vanish in the wilderness without a trace and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them. These [...]

Recurring Event Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Join us for a guided tour of Congressional Cemetery, sharing the secrets and stories of this hidden gem. Among the 65,000 burials at Congressional are scores of noteworthy citizens who left their mark on the city and the nation. Find out more about their amazing stories. All tours meet inside the front gate of the [...]

$5

Mathew Brady Memorial Dedication

America, especially the Washington area, is steeped in the idea of Abraham Lincoln. 2022 marks two important anniversaries, the 100th anniversary of the opening of the Lincoln Memorial and the 200th anniversary of renowned photographer Mathew Brady’s birthday. In this critical year, historian Larry West will unveil a new Memorial to Brady in the very [...]

Free
Recurring Event Sunday Stroll in the Cemetery

Sunday Stroll in the Cemetery

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Docents may pick their favorite stories or give a specialized tour, rather than giving a standard broad look at the cemetery's history. Join us for a grab bag of history and lore! Our Sunday tours will begin at 1 pm, and will be an informal look at the history of Congressional Cemetery. Please be aware [...]

$5

Inaugural Death Café

Historic Congressional Cemetery Chapel 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

UPDATE: SOLD OUT. Due to high demand we are unable to register any more participants. Thank you very much for your interest! As an active burial ground, Historic Congressional Cemetery is well acquainted with death. But just what is a Death Café? Death Café is a global movement facilitating thoughts and discussion about the often [...]

Free

Law Enforcement Torch Run

Special Olympics DC is hosting their Annual Law Enforcement Torch Run (LETR) on Friday, September 23rd at the Historic Congressional Cemetery. This amazing event has been uniting officers, members from federal agencies and community members for the last 3 decades raising awareness and funds for the more than 2,500 Special Olympics DC athletes across the [...]

$35.00
Recurring Event Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Join us for a guided tour of Congressional Cemetery, sharing the secrets and stories of this hidden gem. Among the 65,000 burials at Congressional are scores of noteworthy citizens who left their mark on the city and the nation. Find out more about their amazing stories. All tours meet inside the front gate of the [...]

$5

Book Signing: Author John Wasowicz

  ‘Murder in the Museum’ featured in Gadsby’s Corner by John Adam Wasowicz. Artwork by Julianne Woehrle. Join Author John Wasowicz at Historic Congressional Cemetery for a book signing event commemorating the release of his newest book, Gadsby's Corner, a fictional CLUE-like murder mystery that unfolds at Gadsby’s Tavern Museum in Old Town [...]

Free

Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Join us for a guided tour of Congressional Cemetery, sharing the secrets and stories of this hidden gem. Among the 65,000 burials at Congressional are scores of noteworthy citizens who left their mark on the city and the nation. Find out more about their amazing stories. All tours meet inside the front gate of the [...]

$5

Only at Congressional Guided Tour

Historic Congressional Cemetery 1801 E Street, Southeast, Washington, DC

Join us for a guided tour of Congressional Cemetery, sharing the secrets and stories of this hidden gem. Among the 65,000 burials at Congressional are scores of noteworthy citizens who left their mark on the city and the nation. Find out more about their amazing stories. All tours meet inside the front gate of the [...]

$5